Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is the cookie of all cookies.  I crave these things randomly and the craving does not go away until it is satisfied.

I have made these things with Hershey bars chopped up to substituting all sugar for white or all sugar for brown (whichever I had handy).  I also did not have eggs one day and made it eggless by mixing together 2 tbsp water and 1 tbsp oil (I used peanut oil) and 2 tsp baking powder until it gets frothy like an egg before adding to the mix.  All versions have been successfully delicious and no two batches I’ve ever made have ever tasted the same.  I particularly like the eggless version because of the peanut oil (and that discovery was made because I didn’t have regular oil to make the faux eggs).

No matter what you don’t have, this recipe has never failed me.

This was adapted from Rebel Without a Sauce (love the name!) (http://rebelwithoutasauce.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/toffee-chocolate-chip-cookies/).

My Version of Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields: ~20 cookies

Ingredients:

-½ cup sugar

-½ cup light brown sugar

-½ cup (1 sticks) butter, softened

-1 egg

-1 tsp vanilla

-½ tsp baking soda

-½ tsp salt

-1½ cups all-purpose flour

-½ cup semisweet chocolate chips

-½ cup toffee bits (I purchased a bag of Heath Bar bits from the baking aisle)

-Parchment paper (not completely necessary)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375°f/190°c and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Place sugar, brown sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla in a bowl and beat  and mix until smooth.

3. Add baking soda, salt and flour to the sugar mixture and mix together until smooth.

4. Fold in chocolate chips and toffee bits.

5. Drop rounded tablespoonfuls (or use a cookie scoop) onto baking sheet approximately 2 inches apart.

6. Bake for 5 minutes, rotate the baking sheet and then bake for another 5 minutes.

7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool on baking sheet for 1-2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

532358_10101151912305358_257414501_nI can only find this picture despite having made these more times than I can count!

 

2 thoughts on “Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Heath Toffee Meltaways - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a comment