Sparkling White Wine Cupcakes

I know I mentioned before that my job loves potlucks. Having now moved to California from Florida (and continuing to work for the Mouse in my same role)  I love that this team team I’m on loves potlucks  as well because it gives me a reason to make goodies to bring to work (not like I need a reason lol).

We were welcoming ‘newbies’ (newer than me) to the team and decided on an Italian themed meal for their potluck.  One co-worker made the entrees, I made the desserts.  I knew I wanted to make cupcakes and thought what flavors pair well with Italian food? Wine!

I actually made two sets of cupcakes, one white wine and one red wine. You can find the red wine recipe here.

I perused through Pinterest looking for the perfect recipe to play around with and came across Happy Sugar Fun Time‘s beautiful cupcakes, which mine are an adaption of.

I actually halved the frosting (icing, whatever lol) because as some of you may have gotten memo, I’m not a big fan of the stuff BUT it was still more than enough for the cupcakes. I do have to say, this was the best buttercream I have ever made (perhaps because it turned out so nicely and I actually let the butter sit to room temperature vs forcing it there…) and might… a slight might… have maybe made me like buttercream. Just a little.

 

White Sparkling Wine Cupcakes and Buttercream

Yields: makes about 24

 

Ingredients 

Cupcakes

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup sparkling wine
  • 6 egg whites

Buttercream

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup butter (room temperature)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-3 tablespoons champagne (room temperature)

 

Directions For Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Set up cupcake pan with cupcake liners
  3. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. In another bowl, sift flour, baking powder, and salt together
  5. Blend dry ingredients into creamed mixture alternately with sparkling wine.
  6. In another bowl (make sure it is clean and dry!), beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.
  7. Fold 1/3 of the whites into batter to lighten it, then gently fold in remaining egg whites.
  8. Fill the cupcake liners about 1/2 to 2/3 full.
  9. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.
  10. While they were a little warm, I may have “glazed” the tops of these cupcakes by poking a hole or two in the top and spooned a smidge of some leftover wine before topping (once completely cool) with the buttercream. By may have, I definitely did.

 

Directions for Buttercream

  1. Using an electric mixer, beat together sugar and butter
  2. Mix on low until well blended, and then on medium for another two minutes.
  3.  Add vanilla and champagne and continue beating on medium for another minute.

 

 

Leave a comment