Red Wine Cupcakes

If you didn’t read the ‘Sparkling White Wine Cupcakes’ post, you’re in luck because I am going to paste what I had written there, here!

I know I mentioned before that my job loves potlucks. Having now moved to California from Florida (and continuing to work for the Mouse in my same role)  I love that this team team I’m on loves potlucks  as well because it gives me a reason to make goodies to bring to work (not like I need a reason lol).

We were welcoming ‘newbies’ (newer than me) to the team and decided on an Italian themed meal for their potluck.  One co-worker made the entrees, I made the desserts.  I knew I wanted to make cupcakes and thought what flavors pair well with Italian food? Wine!

I actually made two sets of cupcakes, one white wine and one red wine. You can find the white wine recipe here.

As I did for the white wine cupcakes, I also perused Pinterest for red wine ideas. I came across three different recipes – one for frosting/reduction topping, one for red wine cupcakes from scratch, and one red wine box mix. After making the white wine cupcakes from scratch, I was too tired to do the same for the red wine, so I pinned the from-scratch recipe to try for later and went with the quick version (and they were delicious).

My final product took the cupcake recipe adapted from Teacher Chef and the cream cheese frosting and wine reduction topping from Kraft Recipes. Don’t ask why I didn’t use everything from one site because I don’t remember my rationale lol but it was probably the vegetable shortening in the frosting and I’m not about that life yet.

 

White Sparkling Wine Cupcakes and Buttercream

Yields: makes about 24

 

Ingredients 

Cake

Frosting

  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 pkg. (8 oz.) Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

 

Directions for Cake

  1. Preheat oven to the temperature listed on your box mix (mine was 350 degrees F (175 degrees C))
  2. Set up cupcake pan with cupcake liners
  3. Take about 2 cups of Red Wine and bring to a boil until reduced by half. Allow to come back to room temperature.
  4. Mix the cake according to the box mix except do not use water and use the reduced wine instead of your water.
  5. Bake according to the time listed on the back of the box, but I’d recommending checking at 15 minutes with a toothpick if your time says longer than 15 minutes.
  6. When completely cooled, frost and drizzle reduction on top!

 

Directions for Cream Cheese Frosting and Reduction Topping

  1. Cream together cream cheese, butter and vanilla in large bowl with mixer. Gradually beat in powdered sugar until blended.
  2. In a saucepan on medium heat, cook granulated sugar and remaining wine for about 15-18 min. or until reduced to thin glaze, stirring occasionally. Cool completely before drizzling.

 

Leave a comment