Mickey Cupcake Cones

I was trying to think of something different to make to bring to work to celebrate my and my first anniversary as a Walt Disney World Cast Member.  Then I thought cupcakes in a cone were fun when I made them in college! Mickey-fying them made them perfect treats to share to celebrate our one year anniversary.

394994_10101361786615558_1322067800_n

I saw this on Pinterest (see Exhibit A below) and thought “Wow! That is genius! If I had thought of this in college I probably could have avoided this” (see Exhibit B below):

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

Exhibit B (circa Apri 2006)

Exhibit B (circa April 2006)

I think it moreso had to do with thinking we were smart with putting batter in the cones to expedite the process, not realizing we were having them sit and get soggy while waiting for the others in the oven.

HOWEVER, what that little image of the holes in the cake pan doesn’t explain is HOW they got there.  I drew circles on my pan and stabbed it with a knife then cut with a pair of scissors. And severed fingers in the process.  Mine did not look as nice and neat at whomever posted that pin (see Exhibit C below):

My work of... art?

Exhibit C: My work of… art?

 

Happy Anniversary Chocolate Mickey Cupcake Cones!

Yields: 24 conecakes

Ingredients:

-Box of Chocolate Cake mix (and the ingredients needed for it – I used Pillsbury Moist Supreme Devil’s Food Cake Mix)

-1 box of ice cream cups (I used Keebler®)

-1 batch of cream cheese frosting (I used the one listed here)

-4 packs of hot cocoa mix or cocoa powder

-1 pack of HERSHEY’S® Milk Chocolate Drops

-Piping bag or gallon ziplock bag

Directions:

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.

2. After preparing your death-trap cone pan, place your cones into the tray.

3. Prepare your Devil’s Food batter and scoop quickly into the cones.  Fill to the line right before it opens to the larger part of the top of the cone.  The cake will have no where to go but up when it bakes, so if you fill it too high, you will have a mess.  You’ll have to fill quickly if you are making 24 as you do not want the cones to get soggy and break.

4. Bake for .  Remove from oven and cool completely.

5. While they are baking, make the cream cheese frosting.  At the end, if you’d like to make it chocolately, add the four packs of cocoa mix or a tablespoon of cocoa powder.  You can add more to your liking.  I stopped once it turned the brown color and it was a slight hint of cocoa.

6. If you don’t have a piping bag (I don’t lol), fill a gallon size ziplock with the cream cheese frosting.  Snip a small-teeny-tiny corner of the bag and see if it is easy for you to pipe with.  If not, cut a little more until it is managable.  To pipe the sorcers hat, I started in the middle of the cupcake and squeezed until it spread and then swirled it up like froyo.  Stick two drops into the frosting as ears and ta-da!

IMG-20121029-00146

 

I didn’t think of it as the sorceres hat until AFTER.  It would have been cute with blue frosting and some star sprinkles. An idea for next time 😀

/update/

So I Googled around and found the actual post that the Pinterest image was born from. Thank you House of Hepworths (http://www.houseofhepworths.com/2010/06/03/my-i-thought-i-had-an-original-idea-ice-cream-cone-cupcake-pan/)!  It explains that they used a 99cent pan versus the heavy duty pan I had at home, making it easier to cut.  And they had the awesome idea of putting the batter into a gallon bag also to help you fill quickly!

One thought on “Mickey Cupcake Cones

Leave a Reply

